Skip to content

Summer 2017 Update

June 14, 2017

Hello listeners,

My most sincere apologies that you haven’t heard from me in a while. For the past many months I’ve been dealing with something of a podcasting/history/theology burn-out. Its been a bit of an uphill battle to get back into the proper headspace, but I’m getting there. I do plan to continue the podcast and re-ignite my passion and enthusiasm for the subject. Your continued support for the show has been very encouraging to me. As of now I already have scripts for the next 4 episodes that have either been completed, near completed, or outlined. Right now I’m working on an episode release schedule for the Summer 2017 and forward/ that will be more compatible with my schedule. I will be releasing an update on the audio podcast feed soon with further details. Thanks again for your continued support! God bless.

From → Uncategorized

10 Comments
  1. Thanks so much for your work. Just finished all 34 episodes. Took me about a week.

    I enjoy the topic and you have been most helpful.

  2. mehmet permalink

    I am extremely glad to hear that.. I am really looking forward for the trinitarian controversies of the 4th century anf the christological controversies of the 5th century… Your podcast fills a great void, thanks for your effort.

    • Thanks for the good word Mehmet! Yes, I am looking forward to the great theological controversies of Late Antiquity as well. I’m already reading up on them and the sheer amount of information and details is astounding.

  3. Robert permalink

    I have only listened to a couple of episodes, but I have enjoyed what I hear. (I also like your voice.) I will be on the lookout for new episodes.

  4. mehmet permalink

    Hi,
    Do you plan to cover Paul of Samosata? I think he is an important theologian, albeit a heretical one.. The later heretical movement within the Armenian church, known as “Paulicians”, are thought to be named after him..

    • Absolutely. In fact, I am currently researching Paul of Samosata right now. Very important, if rather shadowy figure in early Church history. From what I understand there was a group identified as the Paulians in the 4th century associated with the Samosatene, but the Armenian Paulician movement that appears in Byzantine times I don’t think was directly related to Paul.

  5. mehmet permalink

    “….but the Armenian Paulician movement that appears in Byzantine times I don’t think was directly related to Paul…..” actually you are rght, there is not much hard evidence to link them.. But it is an interesting fact that a lot of heretical movements which emphasised the humanity of jesus came from that same area, namely, eastern anatolia.. Paul of Samosata, Theodore of Mopsuestia, Nestorius, and later on, Iconoclasm.. Eastern anatolia is interesting, as it was the meeting place of Aramean, Greek, Iranian and Armenian civilisations.. But, also interestingly, both armenia and syria decided to stick with monophysite theology at the end..

    In 1782, a book titled as “key of truth” is discovered in Armenia.. This book is thought to present a later development of paulician (or, as they are later known, Tondrakian) theology..

    • Very interesting. Although I wouldn’t consider the primary feature of Nestorius and Theodore of Mopseuestia’s theology as emphasizing the humanity of Jesus (which they no doubt did) so much as distinguishing it sharply from the divinity (ie. diophysite) in accordance with Antiochene school they were associated with. Paul of Samosata did indeed teach that Jesus was a mere man, but the issue was somewhat more complex as Paul did understand Jesus as divine but in a very different way than his opponents (which was consequently why it was so hard to condemn him). I haven’t read too much about the Paulicians as they post-date the period for the podcast, but my understanding of them is that they bore more resemblance to the gnostics, having a dualist cosmology which would seem to suggest their Christology was more docetic. But as I said, I haven’t researched them very much and so I could be mistaken.

Leave a Reply

